Frequently Asked Questions

I don’t know much about the Anglican Church and what it means to be an Anglican. Can you tell me more about Anglicanism?

Anglicans trace their Christian roots back to the early Church, and their specifically Anglican identity to the post-Reformation expansion of the Church of England and other Episcopal or Anglican Churches. Historically, there were two main stages in the development and spread of the Communion. Beginning with the 17th century, Anglicanism was established alongside colonization in the United States, Australia, Canada, New Zealand and South Africa. The second stage began in the 18th century when missionaries worked to establish Anglican churches in Asia, Africa and Latin America.

Anglicans uphold the catholic and apostolic faith. Following the teachings of Jesus Christ, the Churches are committed to the proclamation of the Good News of the Gospel to the whole creation. In practice this is based on the revelation contained in Holy Scripture and the Catholic creeds, and is interpreted in light of Christian tradition, scholarship, reason and experience. By baptism in the name of the Father, Son and Holy Spirit, a person is made one with Christ and received into the fellowship of the Church. This sacrament of initiation is open to children as well as to adults.

Central to worship for Anglicans is the celebration of the Holy Eucharist, also called the Holy Communion, the Lord’s Supper or the Mass. In this offering of prayer and praise, the life, death and resurrection of Jesus Christ are recalled through the proclamation of the Word and the celebration of the Sacrament. Other important rites, commonly called sacraments, include confirmation, holy orders (ordination), reconciliation, marriage and anointing of the sick (unction).

Worship is at the very heart of Anglicanism. Its styles vary from simple to elaborate, or even a combination. Until the late 20th century the great uniting text was The Book of Common Prayer, in its various revisions throughout the Communion, and the modern language liturgies, such as Common Worship, which now exist alongside it still bear a family likeness. Both The Book of Common Prayer and more recent Anglican liturgies give expression to the comprehensiveness found within the Church whose principles reflect that of the via media in relation to its own and other Christian Churches.

Another distinguishing feature of the corporate nature of Anglicanism is that it is an interdependent Church, where parishes, dioceses and provinces help each other to achieve by mutual support in terms of financial assistance and the sharing of other resources. To be an Anglican is to be on a journey of faith to God supported by a fellowship of co-believers who are dedicated to finding Him by prayer and service. (Taken from the Church of England web site).

What is the Anglican Communion?
The Anglican Communion is a worldwide family of churches. It is the third largest Christian denomination in the world behind Roman Catholicism and Eastern Orthodoxy and has more than 70 million adherents in 38 Provinces spreading across 161 countries. Located on every continent, Anglicans speak many languages and come from different races and cultures. Although the churches are autonomous, they are also uniquely unified through their history, their theology, their worship and their relationship to the ancient See of Canterbury.

What is the Anglican Church of North America (ACNA) all about?
The Anglican Church in North America (ACNA) unites some 100,000 Anglicans in 700 parishes in 28 dioceses, into a single Church. It is a Province-in-formation in the global Anglican Communion, initiated by the request of the Global Anglican Future Conference (GAFCon) in June 2008 and formally recognized by the GAFCon Primates — leaders of Anglican Churches representing 70 percent of the active Anglicans globally — on April 16, 2009 after a thorough examination of ACNA’s leadership, organizational structure, proposed constitution and proposed canons. Members of the Anglican Church in North America are in the mainstream, both globally and historically, of Christianity — the biblically-faithful way of following Jesus and being part of the “One Holy Catholic and Apostolic Church”. As Anglicans, this orthodoxy is defined by and centered on our church’s classic formularies — the Book of Common Prayer, including the Ordinal, and the Thirty-nine Articles — which all point back to the authority of the Holy Bible and articulate foundational principles of the Anglican tradition throughout the world. (Excerpted from the ACNA web site.

How many churches comprise the Anglican Diocese of the Great Lakes (ADGL)?
There are currently 30 + parishes in Ohio, Michigan, Kentucky, New York, Pensylvania, West Virginia, Tennessee, Indiana, Wisconsin, and Canada, with an average Sunday attendance (ASA) of over 3,000 people. For information on specific churches, please go to the church finder tool on the ACNA web site.

Who is the current bishop of the AGDL?
The Rt. Rev. Roger C. Ames serves as the first bishop of the AGDL. His headquarters are located at St. Luke’s Anglican Church, Copley, Ohio, near Akron.

How did the ADGL come into existence?
The Anglican Diocese of the Great Lakes grew out of a movement began when five parishes in northern Ohio began the process of denominational realignment that would eventually lead them, with churches across the country, into a new dawn for Anglicanism in North America.

I am interested in planting a church in the AGDL. How do I start?
You may learn more about church planting in the Anglican Church in North America by visiting the Anglican 1000 web site. If you are interested in planting a church in the Anglican Diocese of of the Great Lakes, please contact the Rev. Thomas Hare.

I didn’t get my question answered. Whom do I contact?

Click here for more information.

Leave a Reply